Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This article contains affiliate links — they never change our verdicts.
The short answer
Buy the DF64 Gen 2 if you want flat-burr clarity, an upgrade path (the 64 mm burr carrier takes DLC and SSP swaps), and Amazon checkout with 30-day returns — it is the single-doser you can actually buy on one invoice. Buy the Niche Zero if you grind at 6 a.m. next to a sleeping household (72 dB spec), you love the conical body-forward cup, and buying direct from the maker does not bother you — in September 2026 we could not find a single Niche grinder on Amazon US, so the choice of checkout is genuinely part of the choice of grinder. And if you want Niche build quality with flat-burr clarity instead, that is a third machine — the Niche Duo — not a tiebreaker between these two.
If you buy the Amazon route: DF64 Gen 2 on Amazon.
Quotable: The DF64 Gen 2 and Niche Zero are both single-dose, near-zero-retention grinders built around the same workflow — weigh in 18 g, catch 18 g, switch beans with no purge — but they split on burr geometry and checkout: the DF64 Gen 2 runs 64 mm stainless flat burrs with a plasma ionizer and sells on Amazon US (official DF64Coffee store, 30-day refund/replacement), while the Niche Zero runs 63 mm conical burrs in a 4.1 kg oak-and-aluminium body, specifies 72 dB grinding noise, and sells direct only. Per the official Niche Coffee product page and the current Amazon listing (accessed September 2026).
Spec-level claims below are checked against the official Niche Zero product page (nichecoffee.co.uk), the official Niche Duo product page, and authorized-dealer spec sheets for the DF64 Gen 2; bench notes are our own. The money question — whether any grinder this good makes sense before the machine does — is settled in our are expensive espresso machines worth it investigation; the full single-machine verdict on the Niche side lives in our Niche Zero worth-it investigation. New to the hobby? The beginners hub starts at the beginning.
Two grinders, one philosophy (60 seconds)
Single-dosing is the same idea in both machines: no hopper of slowly staling beans, no purge dose, no hidden retention padding your dial-in. You weigh each dose fresh (18.0 g is our house double), drop it in, and what lands in the cup is what you weighed. Both grinders deliver that promise — the DF64 claims under 0.1 g retention even without a bellow, and Niche specifies dose consistency within ±0.2 g based on independent testing. Where they diverge is everything wrapped around the workflow: burr geometry (flat vs conical), noise, body, upgrade path, and how the box gets to your door. The whole practice leans on a 0.1 g scale — without one, near-zero retention is a number you can never verify. And if your budget is not at this tier yet, the hand grinder guide proves the discipline matters more than the motor: a hundred-dollar crank single-doses by its very nature.
The case for the DF64 Gen 2

- Flat-burr clarity, stock. The 64 mm stainless flat burrs produce the brighter, more textured cup specialty drinkers chase — and per the authorized-dealer spec sheet, the burr carrier takes DLC-coated and SSP aftermarket sets, so the grinder grows with your palate instead of being replaced.
- Static solved in hardware. A plasma generator (ionizer) at the exit chute kills static at the source, and an anti-popcorn disc keeps beans feeding evenly. On the bench this shows up as clean cups and no grounds climbing the chute walls.
- Amazon checkout, real returns. Sold through the official DF64Coffee store with 30-day refund/replacement — one invoice, familiar return flow, no transatlantic shipping question marks. For most buyers this is quietly the deciding feature.
- More grinder per gram of spend. Same near-zero-retention workflow as the Niche, 64 mm of flat burr, a 250 W motor spinning at 1,400 RPM with a 45-second auto-stop — at a street price that undercuts the direct-only rivals. check the current price on the DF64 Gen 2 before deciding; coupons move it.
- It is the honest answer to a restricted buying rule. Gift cards, Prime shipping, corporate invoicing — none of those work with a UK direct store. The DF64 makes single-dosing compatible with how you already shop.
The case for the Niche Zero

- 72 dB, per the official spec. Conversation-quiet grinding is a Niche signature, and our 6 a.m. bench weeks confirm it: the DF64 is noticeably louder at the cup. If the grinder lives outside a closed kitchen, this is not a footnote.
- The conical cup has loyalists for a reason. 63 mm conical burrs give the rounded, body-forward, chocolate-and-nut profile that made the Niche the default single-doser recommendation for years. If your reference shot is a classic Italian-style blend, conical is home.
- Oak and aluminium, 4.1 kg of it. The build is furniture-grade — real oak trim on an aluminium body, a dial that feels like a camera lens. Eight years of aftermarket know-how, guides, and community settings accumulate around a machine this established.
- One grinder, every brew method. The infinite stepless dial spans espresso through filter in seconds, so a two-method household runs one grinder without compromises — and with near-zero retention, switching methods wastes nothing.
- Buying direct is a feature for some buyers. Straight from the maker, no marketplace third parties, 30-day money-back on the Duo’s terms sheet — if you are comfortable with direct checkout, nothing here is a compromise.
DF64 vs Niche Zero: the spec table
Per the official Niche Zero page and the DF64 Gen 2’s Amazon listing plus authorized-dealer spec sheets:
| Attribute | DF64 Gen 2 | Niche Zero |
|---|---|---|
| Burrs | 64 mm flat, stainless (DLC/SSP-upgradable) | 63 mm conical |
| Retention | Under 0.1 g claimed, even without a bellow | Near-zero; dose consistency within ±0.2 g |
| Static control | Plasma generator (ionizer) at exit chute | Straight-through path, no bellows needed |
| Adjustment | Stepless micrometric dial | Infinite stepless dial |
| Noise | Not stated; noticeably louder on our bench | 72 dB during grinding (official spec) |
| Motor | 250 W AC, 1,400 RPM, 45-sec auto-stop | 1 g per second grind speed |
| Body | Aluminium, powder-coat finish | Aluminium, real oak trim, 4.1 kg |
| Dosing cup | 58 mm, included | 58 mm, included |
| Where sold | Amazon US, official DF64Coffee store | Direct from Niche only (Sept 2026) |
Read the table as three real differences — burr geometry, noise, and checkout — wrapped around an otherwise identical workflow. Retention is effectively a tie; both machines weighed in at essentially what we weighed out, shot after shot.
What the Niche Duo changes
The topic-map question is never just two grinders, because Niche now sells a second machine: the Niche Duo, built around two 83 mm flat burr sets — one espresso, one filter — that you swap to change brew method. Per the official Duo page it keeps everything Niche about the Zero (stepless dial, 1 g per second grind, dose consistency within ±0.2 g, 72 dB, aluminium and real oak, 58 mm grind cup, US plug variant) in a 5 kg body at 135 × 230 × 355 mm. Practically: if the DF64’s flat-burr clarity is what pulled you away from the Niche Zero, the Duo is Niche’s answer — flat burrs, bigger, with a dedicated filter set — still direct-only. The honest framing: DF64 vs Niche Zero is flat-vs-conical and Amazon-vs-direct; DF64 vs Niche Duo is the same flat-burr cup against burr-swapping flexibility and an even quieter chassis, with the same checkout split.
Where to actually buy them
The Niche Zero and Niche Duo are sold direct through Niche’s own store — the only new-unit channel we can verify in September 2026. The DF64 Gen 2 is the one of the three on Amazon US, from the official DF64Coffee store: check the current price on the DF64 Gen 2 — single-doser street prices move with coupons. If this grinder is the top of your ladder rather than the middle, the kit-builder matrices sequence the whole bench honestly.

Bench notes (September 2026)
Our original data — same medium-roast Ethiopia/Brazil blend as every Brewkit test, 18 g doses, one sample per grinder, dialed in advance:
| Observation | DF64 Gen 2 | Niche Zero |
|---|---|---|
| Weigh-in test, 18.0 g in | 17.9–18.0 g out, ionizer on | 17.8–18.0 g out, no aids |
| Bean switch crossover | First shot usable immediately | First shot usable immediately |
| Espresso dial-in, fresh bag | 4 shots to window | 3 shots to window |
| Reference shot | 18 g in, 36 g out, ~26 s | 18 g in, 36 g out, ~27 s |
| Cup character | Brighter, more texture separation | Rounded, body-forward |
| 6 a.m. noise verdict | Noticeably louder at the cup | Conversation quiet (72 dB spec) |
| Weekly maintenance | ~3 min, brush + chute wipe | ~2 min, brush + burr lift |
Both grinders ran decaf-after-dinner duty for a week; neither produced a stale first shot once. The cup-character split is real and repeatable — flat versus conical is a preference, not a ranking, and no bench number in this table overrides which cup you want to drink.
Questions people actually ask
Is the DF64 better than the Niche Zero?
Neither is better outright — they split on burr geometry, noise, and checkout. The DF64 Gen 2 gives brighter flat-burr clarity, burr upgrades, and Amazon availability; the Niche Zero gives a quieter 72 dB grind, the body-forward conical cup, and a furniture-grade build sold direct only. Pick the cup you want and the checkout you trust.
Can you buy the Niche Zero on Amazon?
Not in September 2026, when we checked live: Amazon US searches surface accessories only, and the ASIN floating around old affiliate sites dead-ends. Both the Niche Zero and Niche Duo sell direct through Niche’s own store. Our Amazon links here point to the DF64 Gen 2 — the single-doser actually stocked, from the official seller store.
DF64 or Niche Zero for espresso only?
Both are espresso-first single-dosers with stepless dials fine enough to hold a 25–30 second window — our dial-ins took 4 shots (DF64) and 3 shots (Niche) from a fresh bag. Choose flat burrs for bright, textured shots; choose conical for rounded, heavier-bodied ones. For espresso-only drinkers the burr set decides the cup, not the brand.
What about the Niche Duo — is it the best of both?
It is Niche’s flat-burr answer: two 83 mm flat burr sets (espresso and filter) you swap in the same quiet 72 dB, oak-trimmed chassis, per the official product page. Compared with the DF64 you get bigger burrs and swappable sets, but the same direct-only checkout and a heavier 5 kg body. Best of both if you wanted the Niche build with flat-burr clarity — not if Amazon checkout was the point.
Which grinder retains less coffee?
Effectively a tie at the bench: the DF64 Gen 2 claims under 0.1 g even without a bellow, and the Niche specifies dose consistency within ±0.2 g based on independent testing. Our 18.0 g weigh-ins returned 17.8–18.0 g on both machines, shot after shot, with no aids. Neither needs a purge dose when switching beans.
Do I need anything else to single-dose?
A 0.1 g scale, full stop — the workflow is weighing in and catching out, so the scale is the instrument that makes near-zero retention mean something. Ours is documented in the espresso scale guide. Beyond that: fresh whole beans, and a machine worth feeding — the under-500 ranking starts where that becomes true.
Verdict
DF64 vs Niche Zero in 2026 is not a quality contest — both deliver the single-dosing promise so completely that retention stopped being a differentiator. It is a character contest: the DF64 Gen 2 for flat-burr brightness, burr-swap upgrades, and one-invoice Amazon checkout; the Niche Zero for a quieter morning, the rounded conical cup, and buying a cult machine from the people who make it. The Niche Duo stands one step aside — 83 mm flat burrs in twos — for the buyer who wants Niche everything and flat-burr clarity too. Whichever box arrives, the workflow is the same: weigh, grind, switch beans without waste. The upgrade was never the grinder; it was the habit — and the 0.1 g brew scale every single-doser depends on costs less than every machine in this fight. If the grinder budget still competes with the machine budget, the machine ranking and the channeling guide come first.
First published September 2026. Niche Zero and Niche Duo specifications per the official Niche Coffee product pages (nichecoffee.co.uk, accessed September 2026); DF64 Gen 2 per the current Amazon listing (official DF64Coffee store, verified live September 2026) and authorized-dealer spec sheets (accessed September 2026); motor and dimension figures from dealer sheets, as the official brand pages carry no numeric table. Amazon US availability of Niche grinders verified by live search September 2026. Warranty terms not stated in the sources pulled and are therefore not claimed. Bench observations are our own, September 2026, one sample per grinder.
Bench data availability: the measured numbers behind this article are published as the machine-readable CSV data/df64-vs-niche-zero-bench-2026.csv in the brewkit-bench-data repository on GitHub (last updated 2026-10-06, CC BY 4.0).
